0 item

Your shopping cart is empty

Continue Shopping

The Supper Club is a multi-faceted art project that brings together over 50 contemporary artists of color from the United States through portraiture, food  and dialogue.  Started in 2012 and informed by Vanity Fair Magazine’s annual “Hollywood Edition,” among other publication for their lack of diversity, I set out to photographed over 50 contemporary visual artists of color in widely varied locations and forms of dress  in order to capture their unique artistic voices, make them an embodiment of their art  and transform their identities into iconic, archetypal  portraits. Each artist was given a moniker, such as “The Chairman of the Board (Derrick Adams) in order to identify them within the group and offer a doorway into their individual artistic practice. These experimental portraits combine the visual vocabulary of contemporary fashion photography, with pop art and history as well as underscore the interplay among persona, politics and aesthetics in much of contemporary art.

The Supper Club is also a series of dinners which brings together artists, scholars and performers of diverse diasporic cultures to examine race and culture in the United States. The conversations initially addressed issues of agency, race, the role of artists and audience.  However the killings of Michael Brown and Eric Garner in 2014, shifted the conversations to address how people relate to each other amidst critical events.  More than just dinner talk, these conversations have included topics such as police violence, the 2016 Pulse nightclub shootings in Orlando and the need for sanctuary spaces; black female and male subjectivity; and racial subjugation in Latin American history. 

The Supper Club is a critical historical archive of this moment documenting African-Americans, Latin Americans, LatinX, Africans, South Asians, and Caribbean cultural producers  as a collective group as they weigh in on the historical significance of the last decade and the enduring power of art, food, and conversation in our everyday lives.  

Portraits include: Abigail DeVille, Alejandro Guzman, Alex Rivera, Angel Otero, Arnaldo Morales, Brendan Fernandes, Carlos de Leon Sandoval, Chitra Ganesh, Clifford Owens, Coco Fusco, Dahlia Elsayed, David Antonio Cruz, Dawit Petros, Derrick Adams, Dread Scott, Firelei Baez, Hank Willis Thomas, Heather Hart, Ivan Monforte, Jacolby Satterwhite, Jaishri Abichandani, Janelle and Lisa Iglesias, Jaret Vadera, Jayson Keeling, Jeffrey Gibson, Juana Valdes, Kalup Linzy, Karina Skvirsky, Kenya Robinson, LaTasha Nevada Diggs, LaToya Ruby Frazier, Legacy Russell, Lina Puerta, Lorraine O'Grady, Marin Hassinger, Michael Paul Britto, Mickalene Thomas, Miguel Luciano, Nicolas Dumit Estevez, Nicole Awai, niv Acosta, Paul Mpagi Sepuya, Rachelle Mozman, Rafael Sanchez, Rajkamal Kahlon,Rashawn Griffin, Rico Gaston, Sanford Biggers, Saya Woolfalk, Scherezade and Iliana Garcia, Shaun Leonardo, Shinique Smith, Simone Leigh, Steffani Jemison, Wangechi Mutu, Wanda Ortiz, and Zachary Fabri

Guest have included: Aaron Phillip, Adrian Loving, Adrienne Childs, Alex Segade, Alexandria Smith, Alexis Duque, Amanda Stafford, Andre Singleton, Andrew Russeth, Antwan Sargent, Arlene Davila, Ben Rodriguez-Cubenas, Beth Wilde Biasiny, Bora Yoon, Brandi Thompson, Caitlin Marz, Cameron Welsh, Carlos Melgoza, Carmelita Tropicana, Carmen Ramos, Charles Biasiny-Rivera, Cheto Castellano, Christopher Lew, Chris Udemezue,  Cordula Maria Rien Kuntari, David Driskell, Deborah Jack, Donald Rubin, Dulcina Abreu, Earl Stafford, Eduardo Ayala Fuentes, Edwin Ramoran, Elisabeth Smolarz, Ellington Robinson, Emily Sufrin, Esperanza Mayorbe, Eva Diaz, Fabiana Lopes, Geandy Pavon, George Bolster, Hai Zhang, Henry Thaggert, Holly Bass, Hong Gyu Shin, Hosan Lee, Jackqueline Tarry, Jarvis Dubois, Jeanine Tang, Jennifer Cendana Armas, Jessica Stafford Davis, Joanne Flores, John Arthur Peetz, Josh Franco, Juan Sanchez, Juan Thompson, Judy Brodsky, Julie Chae, Kibra Yohannes, Larry Ossei-Mensah, Laurie Prendergast, Lavanya Ramanathan, Leeroy Kunyung Kang, Leslie Sardinias, Lisa Gold, Lisette Oliveras, Lynn Pomo, MahlOt Sansosa*, Maia Cruz Palileo, Mailyn Machado, Malik Gaines, Margerie Silverman, Maria Jose, Maris Curran, Marlon Feliz, Marta Perez Garcia, Martita Abril, Michael Royce, Nicky Enright, Nicole Caruth, Nora Cole, Omar Lopez-Chaoud, Osdany Morales, Peggy Cooper Cafritz, Peuo Tuy, Rehan Ansari, Robert Penn, Rocio Aranda, Rosamond S. King, Sadia Shirazi*, Sara Reisman, Saul Ostrow, Seph Rodney, Sheldon Scott, Shelley Rubin, Stefanie Rodriguez, Stephen Winters, Sur Rodney Sur, Susane Lee, Tanya Katerí Hernández, Tara Hart, Tashima Thomas, Terry Boddie, Tony Whitfield, Tuliza Fleming, Tygaphaw, Uri McMillan, William Villalongo, Yasmin Ramirez, Zira Saro Wawa, Zoe Charlton, Shellyne Rodriguez, Chloe Bass, Sable Elyse Smith, Lucia Hierro, Joiri Minaya, Jasmin Wahi, Deborah Jack, Ela Troyano, Sol Aramendi